Fenella Humphreys, Nicola Eimer & Leah Broad – Lost Voices (classical/speech)

Fenella Humphreys (violin), Nicola Eimer (piano) and Leah Broad (speaker) – Lost Voices

7:30pm Friday 19 July

Champs Hill, Coldwaltham


Adults £27.50 (18 & under £5)

Fenella Humphreys & Nicola Eimer (photo: Alejandro Tamagno)

The Champs Hill gardens will be open for picnics from 5.00 – 7.15pm

Wine included in the ticket price and served from 6.45pm

Please note, the concert is indoors. Only the picnics take place in the garden (weather permitting).

The leading violinist and winner of the 2018 BBC Music Magazine Award, Fenella Humphreys, takes to the Champs Hill stage in a fascinating collaboration with historian Leah Broad. 

Based around Broad’s recent book Quartet, they explore the work of four British female composers, Ethel Smyth, Doreen Carwithen, Rebecca Clarke and Dorothy Howell. Each composed some of the century’s most popular and accessible music and pioneered creative careers but today enjoy at best ghostly presences in comparison to their male contemporaries Elgar, Vaughan Williams and Britten. 

Lost Voices intertwines Broad’s narrative with performances of their music by Humphreys and pianist Nicola Eimer.

Ethel Smyth Sonata (1st movement)
Doreen Carwithen Sonata (1st & 2nd movements)
Rebecca Clarke Midsummer Moon
– Interval –
Rebecca Clarke Sonata Movement
Dorothy Howell The Moorings
Dorothy Howell Andante
Ethel Smyth Sonata (4th movement) 

‘Fenella Humphreys employs her customary imaginative flair and luminous palette of tone colours to tease the beauty out of a set of pieces that are compact in scale but not in ambition’ The Strad

This concert is generously sponsored by The Bowerman Charitable Trust