The Brodsky Quartet and Friends

The Brodsky Quartet and Friends





Friday 29 July, 2016

St Mary's Church, Petworth, GU28 0AD

7.30pm ends approx 9.30pm

Adult: £20, £12.50, £7 | Eighteen & under : £5 or FREE in adult £7 seats)

A FEW TICKETS AVAILABLE ON THE DOOR - do join us at St Mary's at about 7pm to purchase yours

The Brodsky Quartet moves from Champs Hill to St Mary’s for the second of their two festival concerts, on this occasion in tandem with the Fitzroy Quartet, a string quartet from new festival partners, the Royal Academy of Music. The concert includes an eclectic mix of pieces written or arranged specially for string octet and concluding with a performance of Mendelssohn’s Octet, an astonishing early work by the child-prodigy composer.

Additionally including a second performance of Ned Bigham’s Petworth Festival commission ‘Heaven shall call her from this cloud of darkness’, this concert will be presented in fond and grateful memory of Raymond Harris, Chairman of the Petworth Festival between 1997 – 2003, a generous supporter ever since, a lover of the arts in general and a hugely valued member of the wider Petworth community for many years.

Copland - Hoedown from Rodeo

Brubeck - Regret

Prokofiev - March

Barber - Adagio

Khachaturian - Sabre Dance


Bigham - Heaven shall call her from this cloud of darkness

Mendelssohn - Octet

Brodsky Quartet

Generously supported by The Anstruther Family, Ann Bayne, Rosemary Harris and South Downs Decorative & Fine Arts Society