Bloomsbury Quartet – ReCentred: Elizabeth Maconchy

Bloomsbury Quartet – ReCentred: Elizabeth Maconchy





Friday 16 July, 2021

St Mary's Church Petworth GU28 0AD

7.30pm – 9.10pm

Tickets for this ‘pay-as-you-wish’ concert are free, but please book as normal and then decide at the end of the evening how much you wish to pay.

Following the great success of 2019’s inaugural ‘pay-as-you-wish’ concert, the Petworth Festival invites you to join us for another concert featuring music that is all too often under- represented – in this instance music by two superb female composers, Dame Elizabeth Maconchy DBE and her equally luminous daughter, Nicola Lefanu.

The Bloomsbury Quartet – which excelled at a previous Petworth Festival when a Royal Academy of Music ensemble – brings Elizabeth Maconchy’s life and music into focus. The programme also includes music by Nicola Lefanu and by Maconchy’s teacher, Ralph Vaughan-Williams.

This wholly innovative evening is in two parts and mixes the music with a multimedia installation to help familiarise the audience with the programme and the players: a mixture of film, photography and ‘live’ programme notes.

Download the programme notes here.

Elizabeth Maconchy - String Quartet No. 1

Vaughan-Williams - String Quartet No. 2 in A minor

Nicola Lefanu - String Quartet No. 2

Elizabeth Maconchy - String Quartet No, 11

Bloomsbury Quartet (photo: Christian Maier Smith)