Armonico Consort: Vivaldi’s Four Seasons

With Jennifer Pike (violin), Eloise Irving (soprano) and Edward Button (alto)

Armonico Consort: Vivaldi’s Four Seasons





Saturday 31 July, 2021

St Mary's Church Petworth GU28 0AD

7.30pm – 9.20pm

Band B £33, £22, £12.10, £8.25 (18 under £5, FREE in adult £8.25 seats)

The Armonico Consort and Ensemble have become great friends with the Petworth audiences over recent years and it is with great pleasure that we bring the curtain down on this year’s festival sharing a celebration of the ever innovative group’s 20th anniversary. Directed by the ensemble’s founder, Christopher Monks, the concert features two pillars of the baroque repertoire. In the first half, Pergolesi’s stunning ‘death bed’ composition, his Stabat Mater. Pergolesi achieved only modest success during his lifetime, but the twenty years following his death in 1736 at the age of only twenty-six saw an extraordinary change, turning him into one of the most-published composers of the eighteenth century.

The concert concludes with one of the greatest of all baroque works, the thrillingly inventive Four Seasons by Vivaldi, featuring leading British violinist, Jennifer Pike, at the time the youngest ever winner of the BBC Young Musician of the Year.

Pergolesi - Stabat Mater

Vivaldi - The Four Seasons

Generously sponsored by Tim & Jane Barrington, Robert & Lynda Moorby, Nicholas & Ronagh Wheeler, Augustus Brandt, Newlands House Gallery and Petworth Places